Spiderman: Far From Home Review

“An epilogue to the Infinity Saga that was a change of pace”

I would like to admit, as I did in the Avengers: Endgame Review with Improvatory, after that film I was done with superhero movies. I’ve spent almost half of my life dedicated much like anyone following the storyline comic by comic and I think it’s time to move on. Then, Spiderman: Far From Home was released. I knew this movie coming for several years now and now that it’s out after Endgame, it was a nice epilogue to everything while bringing the question: What’s Next?

Spiderman: Far From Home follows Peter Parker on vacation post-Snap (aka The Blip in film) when he is enlisted by Nick Fury and Mysterio to battle The Elementals. All in all, the film I felt gave a good change of pace for Spiderman and the setting at large. Majority of the Spidey films we’ve gotten so far, they were all centered within NYC and after a time it gets old but here he’s traveling across the water and it was fun (sure he went to space too) and the scenery was beautiful that it makes me want to go travel too. Mysterio was by far the coolest part of the whole film in all honesty and I’ll be sure to keep the spoilers for the very bottom for those reading this. Jake Gyllenhaal was what got me into seeing this movie (it’s crazy cause he almost replaced Tobey Maguire for Spiderman 2) and he does not disappoint at all. The action was cool, per usual with superhero flicks, but Mysterio’s illusions are what made me as a filmmaker want to know how they shot it. Of coarse it’s CGI but camera movements and the direction in scriptwriting, that’s what makes me curious how they do it. Samuel L. Jackson’s performance as Nick Fury is well…it’s Nick Fury but for those who know his previous performances will notice something slightly different with him and that will be explained in the spoilers down below. For an epilogue to the Infinity Saga, Sony and Marvel’s shared deal did it again.

If I was directing this film, I personally feel that instead of Nick Fury as the big superhero name to help Parker, I feel like Doctor Strange would’ve been better. I’m not saying in a sense Nick Fury was a poor choice and Jon Watts and Marvel made a smart decision for the foreseeable next saga with reasons, but Mysterio being a master of illusions and magic calls for the Master of the Mystic Arts himself to show him his place. Imagine, Doctor Strange mentoring Parker to be who he needs to be while helping him realize that Mysterio was a fraud. I just felt Nick Fury wasn’t utilized as ‘Nick Fury’ much like he was in Avengers (2012) and Age of Ultron and also The Winter Soldier being the person to make Parker step up as a hero. I would’ve maybe reduced the Iron Man memorials too. I kinda got it after the third one he was dead and gone. As much as he’s the heart of the MCU, there were other fallen too they got brief mention. Again this segment of the review is my own opinion.

Spiderman: Far From Home was a change of pace after Avengers: Endgame and felt like a much needed vacation in setting and in real life from the 11 years of MCU and the question is what comes after. Black Widow is start of Phase 4 followed by The Eternals and Shang Chi so expect a taste of things to come.

9/10 Now…

SPOILERS!!!!:

First off to get this off the table as much as we all knew, Mysterio was the main baddie and the Elementals and the Multiverse were all made up shit that ironically like Quentin Beck says a lot of people would buy and we did. I felt that haha you got me moment, but I was lowkey wishing the multiverse would be a major point to show up. His illusions against Spiderman especially the first one in Germany was crazy I’m like oh shit and whoa the whole time. I liked how the guy from the very first Iron Man movie who got yelled at by Obediah Stane came back after all these years since the first Iron Man movie (you know this film wrapped up loose ends in a way). I love how J.K Simmons came back as J Jonah Jameson cause he’s only person I can see being the live action version and the fact Spiderman’s identity is revealed to the world, expect some major Sinister Six or even Peter trying to play off Mysterio lied and such about his identity cause he can’t snap that away. I wonder if Tom Hardy’s Venom would be included since Sony hasn’t ruled out that possibility in MCU. That be cool so there’s no recasts. Now, Nick Fury…he’s Talos the skrull from Captain Marvel (Soren, Talos’s wife impersonated Maria Hill). There’s hints throughout of this but it’ll be a surprise for people to go “whaaaa??!!”

In all honesty for me it begs a theory of when did Nick Fury and Talos switched places. I feel like it happened either during Winter Soldier or Age of Ultron specifically (most likely Age of Ultron) and it was Talos impersonating Fury that was decimated during Infinity War while Fury was hard at work overseeing the future with his project in space. I’m curious what Marvel Studios is gonna come up with as an explanation.

Leave a comment